The Best Darn Self Improvement Hack Ever

If you have any personal growth goals, you need to join Toastmasters.

Rasheed Hooda
5 min readNov 14, 2019
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

“When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”

Whether the above quote originated with Buddha or someone else, I have found it to be true in my life, over and over.

In 1985, my boss gave me Earl Nightingale’s mega-successful self-improvement program, Lead the Field. That was my introduction to the field of personal growth. I have been on a journey of self-development ever since.

I always wanted to be a professional speaker ever since my 7th-grade teacher voluntold me to participate in a debate competition.

In 1989, I got serious and bought a franchise for the Success Motivation Institute. It was a costly mistake. You might say it was an investment in Self Improvement because I realized that there was more to being a professional speaker than just standing in front of an audience and speak.

Later, I bought How to Make a Fortune in Public Speaking: Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is, by Robert Anthony. No, I didn’t make a fortune, but this time I didn’t lose one either. Not only that, using just one idea from it has changed my life.

--

--

Rasheed Hooda

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo